Archive for March, 2013

Favorite new artist find for this show

March 24th, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Artist Picks, Events and Exhibitions, General, Resources |

Here is my favorite new artist find for this show: sculptor Dick Shanley (www.dickshanley.com). Such beautiful happy colorful pieces, smooth and elegant, really cool. And of course my two favorite wood workers are back, Nico Yektai (www.nicoyektai.com), and Earl Nesbitt (www.earlnesbitt.com). Nico brought some incredible new pieces, in particular a long mirror with 3 irregular drawers – it’s a sculpture as much as furniture.

Re-make of John 15:5

March 22nd, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Events and Exhibitions, General, The Artists at Work |

Today, the re-make of John 15:5 was picked up by its happy new owner. Remember, Alibay had to re-create the cartoon, since it had been destroyed in the first making. The new piece is a little bolder in colors compared to the 2009 version, and entirely glorious! Luckily, our client appreciates the fact that each re-making of a motif will yield a different result! Here it is!

IMG_6399

Day 2 at the Architectural Digest Home Design Show

March 22nd, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Events and Exhibitions |

What makes a good show? Well, sales of course! But what makes a show great? Nice neighbors! And I’m happy to report we are surrounded by wonderful energy and great talent again! Kirk Bauer is back, (www.kirkbauer.com), with his fabulous brushed aluminum pieces, also next door again are John Murphy (www.shopjohnmurphy.com) with his whimsical framed nature photos and Deborah Falls (www.deborahfalls.com) with her incredible flower paintings on silk. A new neighbor and most welcome addition in the textile art realm is felt artist Sharron Parker (www.sharronparker.com). We are blessed to have such great and fun neighbors!

First Day at Architectural Digest Show

March 21st, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Events and Exhibitions, General |

Here are some impressions of our booth this year, and a full take on ‘Elements’! It’s absolutely fabulous, and is getting a lot of attention! (Despite the many partial power losses our Aisle had today – what was up with that? Lights out at an exhibition? Not ideal!)

IMG_6387 IMG_6389 IMG_6393

Get your ticket discount for the Architectural Digest Home Design Show here!

March 19th, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Events and Exhibitions, General |

Please click here┬áto get your discounted entrance tickets for the 2013 Architectural Digest Home Design Show. The show starts on Thursday, March 21 for the trade and design professionals, and is open Friday through Sunday (March 22 – 24) to the Public. Come see us at Pier 94 in NYC, booth M107 in the MADE section. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Elements – Earth

March 1st, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Events and Exhibitions, General, The Artists at Work |

Earth is still on the loom, too, so Alibay has to finish both Earth and Fire before coming to NYC! Keep your fingers crossed!

Image 15

Elements – Fire

March 1st, 2013 by Administrator | Posted in Events and Exhibitions, General, The Artists at Work |

Fire turned out to be the biggest challenge. Alibay first painted a cartoon that he then considered un-weavable, and so had to go back to the design board. The second design is now on the frame being woven! 19 days to go until he has to get on the plane to come to NYC…

The final design choice

The final design choice

On the loom

On the loom

The un-weavable design

The un-weavable design